Gmail will no longer wait for your permission to “display images below.”
Google rolled out improvements to how Gmail handles images on Thursday, specifically related to its automatic display of pictures within emails. From now on, you’ll never see that pesky prompt again.
The message was initially aimed to protect Gmail users from unknown senders who may try to compromise the security of your computer or mobile device using images.
Now, all images are checked for viruses and malware ahead of time, so it doesn’t matter whether the picture came from someone you know. Google is now serving images through its own secure proxy servers, instead of directly from external host servers.
Users who still want to give Google an OK before viewing an image can select the “Ask before displaying external images” under the general tab in settings.
The update is available on the desktop version of Gmail on Thursday and will come to mobile apps in early 2014.